Form 990 Deadline Extension for Regions Affected by Hurricane Sandy

by Bill Adams 8. November 2012 08:37
The IRS has reacted quickly to the tragedy and announced a number of extensions for organizations in the affected regions. For tax-exempt organizations, Form 990 deadlines have been extended to February 1, 2013 in the following areas:  In Connecticut (starting Oct. 27): Fairfield, Middlesex, New Haven, and New London Counties and the Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation and Mohegan Tribal Nation located within New London County; In New Jersey (starting Oct. 26): Atlantic, Bergen, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Somerset and Union; In New York (starting Oct. 27): Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester. For more information regarding disaster relief, please visit the IRS Tax Relief in Disaster Situations page. If you have any questions or if there’s anything we can do to help your organization get back to business as usual during this recovery period, please feel free to contact us.
Categories: Tax

Hurricane Irene Victims Given Tax Relief

by Rocco Romano 14. September 2011 15:45
Updated: Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee Tax Relief. As a result of Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee, the IRS has postponed deadlines for Pennsylvania taxpayers who reside or have a business in a federal disaster area until Oct. 31, 2011. This includes corporations and other businesses that previously obtained an extension until Sept. 15 to file their 2010 returns. The following Pennsylvania counties have been declared federal disaster areas as a result of Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee: Adams, Bradford, Bucks, Chester, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Philadelphia, Schuylkill, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Union, Wyoming and York.  Updated Pennsylvania information may be found on the PICPA website’s disaster relief assistance page. The Internal Revenue Service has announced that they will be giving a tax relief to those businesses and individual taxpayers who have been affected by Hurricane Irene in North Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Vermont, and Puerto Rico. Once the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assesses the full damage on the East Coast, other locations are expected to be added. The IRS will be postponing certain tax filing and payment deadlines to October 31, 2011. There will also be an extended filing date for corporations and businesses who obtained an extension until September 15, 2011. The new deadline will be October 17, 2010 for these extended 2010 tax returns. Also included in the new October 17th deadline will be the third quarter estimated tax payments for 2011, which are also normally due on September 15th. provides additional information for individual states, including the start date and how to claim a disaster loss by amending a prior year tax return. The local damage assessments done by FEMA along with the coordinated federal response to the damage, has made this tax relief possible. Individuals can find information on disaster relief at For regionally defined tax relief, visit Tax Relief in Disaster Situations for current updates. As of this writing the relief applies to the following counties and municipalities: In North Carolina: Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Dare, Hyde, Pamlico and Tyrell; In New Jersey: Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic and Somerset; In New York: Albany, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Schenectady, Schoharie and Ulster; and In Puerto Rico: Caguas, Canovanas, Carolina, Cayey, Loiza, Luquillo and San Juan. In Vermont: Chittenden, Rutland, Washington and Windsor
Categories: Tax